Yor Ryeter

[1: 1 of 10,000] First Batch of 10,000

In Journal on November 29, 2010 at 11:42 AM

I read from Robin Sharma’s book “The Leader Who Had No Title” –

I first read about it in an article in The Harvard Business Review entitled “The Making of an Expert” and it’s a powerful idea. The feature was on how top performers in fields ranging from athletics to music create their stellar results. It revealed that every world-class expert had one thing in common: they’d each invested approximately 10,000 hours polishing their skill. The learning point for us is that each of us has the potential to arrive at a place of mastery in the work we do. But it generally takes about 10,000 hours of focused effort and deliberate practice on a specific craft to reach Best in World.

Now here’s the real thing: 10,000 hours in a normal life that involves sleeping and spending time with people and other such daily pursuits adds up to about 10 years. You really need to focus on the particular job you want mastery at for about ten years. Mastery takes time, effort, and patience. And too many amoung us just don’t make that commitment. Or they give up too early. And then they wonder why they never became superstars in their work.

My take on writing mastery is committing to publishing 10,000 posts. I love to write and blog and I want to get better and be the best writer, and with that as my creed I am starting my first batch of 10,000; first batch because I don’t see myself ever stopping to write.

How about a little mathematics? If I want to finish the first 10,000 in 1 year I have to write about 28 pieces for a day. If I want to finish it in 5 years I have to write about 6 pieces a day. I don’t have that luxury of time but I have to set GOALS and RULES.

I am committing to:

  1. Publish only a Yor Ryeter Masterpiece. Whoa, masterpiece sounds promising!
  2. Avoid my clichΓ©s.

Let the becoming the best that I can be begins.

  1. πŸ˜€ awesome! I love your idea! πŸ˜€ All the best. I’ll be looking forward to new posts everyday ! =)

    L.O.V.E.
    -The Mad Hatter

  2. Best of luck, doesn’t matter how long it takes but once it’s done it’s the sense of achievement you’ll get from it that’ll be the best bit.

  3. I enjoy your posts, and my goal is to post a day then publish a book. Keep up the great posts!

  4. I just read this and it seems like an awesome idea! Hmm, maybe I’ll work to start a list similar to this.

  5. Awesome idea! Good luck with your goal. But what happens when you actually accomplish it, will you stop writing, or just continue, or set a new goal?

  6. Hey! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I was pretty pissed when I wrote that post hehee. Great idea you’ve got here. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  7. I believe in and love the 10k hours guide too. My next 10k is to become a novelist and I’m about 100 hours in to that challenge! Good luck on your journey and thanks for stopping by my site.

    • Wow! Go go go, congratulations for your 100 hours πŸ™‚ I’ve always believe on passion and your blog is filled with it! Thank you for dropping by here too.

  8. I love this idea! Go! Go! Go! You can do it.

    • Thank you Doris πŸ™‚ Encouragement always gives me a different level of energy!

      Love your posted pictures from your site, will surely browse more your blog πŸ™‚

  9. Good Luck on your blog and it seems you are on your way!

    • Thank you Ramoncito17! So far it is really taking shape, in case I was building the Mount Everest, I managed to plot the parameter of where the mountain will rise. πŸ˜€

  10. Went to ur blog accidentally, very interesting & motivating. Will also try.

  11. Wow! That’s a amazing challenge to set yourself! Good luck and I’ll drop by every now and then to see how you’re doing!

  12. […] [1: 1 of 10,000] First Batch ofΒ 10,000 (ittakes10k.wordpress.com) […]

  13. πŸ™‚ sound like someone I know.. I will follow your blog.. wish u all the best

  14. What an incredible goal! The best of luck to you! πŸ˜€

  15. This is really awesome. I love this idea. I know I’m a year late but I’m catching up on your posts. Good luck & I must say this is such a great challenge!

  16. Excellent! I’m cheering for you! Good luck! πŸ™‚

  17. Wow you’ve got some long-term discipline there. This is great- I love it.

  18. […] This blog finally reached 3 years old, which I started in 2010!!! […]

  19. Its a good target. Wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

