Yor Ryeter

[1: 209 of 10,000] Ugly Betty on RED

In Journal on May 12, 2011 at 12:20 AM

My baby sister who designs window display for a fashion retailer was showing her floral design to me. She said she’ll use the color red and from my angle I don’t seem to see red on the laptop; I told her now that’s not red. It suddenly reminded me of a scene from Ugly Betty (Season 4 Episode 17) where the imaginary beautiful and powerful Betty becomes mean and in your face told a person she did not bring a red top at all. Here’s a peek –


I know Betty was quite a meany embarrassing the employee named Beth but being a lover of colors and words I have to say I was fascinated on the different shades of not red that she described and enumerated spot on and confidently.

I miss the Ugly Betty TV series, too bad it is over. Love all the characters and great story tellers behind the scenes!

P.S. If you want to know what are the enumerated colors, here it is:

Ugly Betty: No, not Red; but Burgundy, Candy Apple, Scarlet, Wine, Crimson, Blush, Vermilion, Puce, Maroon. 😉

  1. I’m amazed at the arguments a simple colour can bring on. I argued once with someone who said they gave me a red felt-tip, but it was pink! They wouldn’t have it, that it was pink. I’ve noted that a lot of people don’t seem to be able to distinguish between similar colours on the spectrum and mix them up. How many times do people argue that turquoise is blue or green when its turquoise. Loved the Ugly Betty reference. I miss it too. 😦

    • Thanks for dropping by and you’re right, the whole point turquoise was made because it isn’t blue or green. Sad right that Ugly Betty ended, but we’ll just cherish the different moments and see how we can totally enjoy going back to the scenes with fresh eyes and perspectives. 🙂

  2. I remember this episode. Actually they are not really exaggerating in the depiction of this situation! There are people who are in retail that behave in this exact manner. I too miss Ugly Betty. But then they ended it already and she was no longer ugly in the end.

    • Shoot, glad I’ve never encountered that same behavior when I was dealing with people from the fashion industry. 😀

      Ugly Betty was really a cute story – loved the business parts too! ♥

Leave a Reply

