Yor Ryeter

[1: 293 of 10,000] Book Into Film – One Of My Favorite Things

In Review on July 17, 2011 at 10:07 AM

I love reading and I also look forward seeing what I read on the big screen. Here were the comparisons of both books and films  that I divulged myself into.

1. A Time To Kill By John Grisham
Read the book before watching the film.

John Grisham was my first ever beloved author. I love courtroom drama, I have undying crush for lawyers because of their ability to persuade in confidence, gather crucial facts, and defend with eloquence using words. I guess I simply love words. The major difference was the powerful story telling of ‘in her shoes’ – in the movie the defending lawyer told the whole story while on the book it was one of the juries during deliberation. When I was reading the book, I thought the way they told the in-her-shoe-story at a different angle was so beautiful;  then I was taken aback that the movie put the focused on the main actor telling the story, which was played by Matthew McConaughey.

The brutality was more apparent on the book, it was more personal, it was more visual because Grisham was great in choosing the right words to describe the scenes. But I also liked the movie but having read the book without bias who I read or watch first –

I love the book more than the movie but now when I plan to re-read the book I know exactly how I imagine my characters with faces – handsome McConaughey, charming Oliver Platt, fierce Samuel Jackson, lawyer Kevin Spacey, lady lawyer Sandra Bullock, and believable Kiefer Sutherland as the antagonist.

2. A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks
Read the book before watching the film.

The only thing I love about the book was the dramatic walk down the aisle. The main character Jamie was on a wheelchair, weak with her illness, and yet she gave all her strength to stand up and walk down the aisle. The wedding scene in the movie on the otherhand was much happier having Mandy Moore all glam, radiantly healthy and beautiful.

I love the movie more than the book because Mandy won me over with her song; and the cute Landon Carter gave justice for being undoubtedly adorable.

3. Confession of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
Read the books before watching the film.

Before a movie was even discussed about this book, I was following the series and imagining who are the best actors to play the parts. I have to admit that I was initially disappointed when I saw the movie, the story of the film didn’t give justice to the real story which is first and foremost happened from UK vs.  USA and the way Becky and Luke met was completely different.

I like Isla Fisher, she was great in playing Rebecca Bloomwood, so I re-watched the movie without comparing it on the book and have appreciated it. The movie has its own charm but definitely not right to compare on the books which have so much color and depth.

At the end, I still love the books (they’ve combined several books in the film) more than the movie. I’m currently reading the 8th book.

4. Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer
Book 1: Watched the movie before reading the book.
– Love the movie more than the book.
Book 2: Watched the movie before reading the book.
– Love the book more than the movie.
Book 3: Watched the movie before reading the book.
– Love the book more than the movie.
Book 4: Read the book and excited for the movie.

To be honest I watched Twilight because my dear friend told me it was a nice film. I’ve never heard about Twilight, I never knew it came from a book, and the biggest surprise when I was inside the theater (without first seeing the trailer) is to find out that the Cullens was a family of vampires! I knew that was coming, no I didn’t.

I have mixed emotions for this review, the critiquing will never be complete until the movie for Book 4 comes out, which apparently will be made in 2 parts.

5. Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
Watched the movie before reading the book.

The book was thick with little prints but I was able to get pass through that and I must say that I enjoyed the movie more than the book. The movie was well directed and it won the space as one of my favorite movies of all time regardless that they’ve used more than one horse to play Seabiscuit, I didn’t even notice it. It was a tasteful history movie.

6. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Watched the movies before barely finishing a single book.

I love the movies more than the books because I don’t understand myself but I can’t seem to finish a single book – very weird. I really enjoyed the brilliance of the film that I don’t find the necessity to read the books. My sister enjoyed the book more than the movie because she said it has more details; I believe her, but I just can’t read it and I am leaving it like that. Was it my bias that it is after all about witch? Silly me!

7. Mission: Impossible
Novel by Peter Barsocchini
Story by David Koepp and Steven Zaillian
Screenplay by David Koepp and Robert Towne
Watched the movie before reading the book.

I love the movie and the book equally. For the first time, the book was based from the movie and I like it (not referring to the novel made by Peter Barsocchini). I enjoyed the movie so much that I love reading the sort of a script. The big plus, Tom Cruise was there too!

8. Clueless by H.B. Gilmour
Watched the movie before reading the book.

The scenario for this was the same like Mission: Impossible, the book was cutely based on the movie but I must say with Alicia Silverstone and Paul Rudd on the screen, loved the movie more than the book.

  1. Good reviews!
    I would agree with most!
    I just really didn’t get into the Twilight series at all and A Walk To Remember was too sappy for me but I liked the song!

Leave a Reply

