Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,136 of 10,000] Are you in love with me?

In Short Story on September 5, 2013 at 1:43 AM

“We need to talk Lauren.”

I looked at him and instantly got nervous but at the same time melt a little. I sat on the chair across him.

Marlo-2-chairs-set

“What’s up?” I casually asked.

“I’ve been trying to figure out why there is undefined grey line between us. It has crossed my mind and maybe I want to try to ask this question. I know you never lie so of all the times that you were honest, I want you to be really honest on this one…” he paused, released a sigh, looked out of the window, and then back to me again, “are you in love with me?”

He just asked the question that I would love to lie my answer. I have always feared the day that he’ll ask this question.

“That’s a very funny question,” and I released a fake laugh.

“You did not answer the question,” I could see from his gaze that he wanted an answer.

“It’s not a valid question Brent,” I am still trying to hide my real feelings if it isn’t too obvious I am hiding, it is freaking written all over my face but he demanded to hear it.

“So am I going to hear you lie to my face for this question?” he teased.

“You know it doesn’t matter,” I dismissed his teasing.

“Of course it matters,” I could see him getting nervous too but my palms are sweating.

“Brent,” I hesitated, “I am in love with you,” and I could feel my cheeks burning!!

“Too bad I have a girlfriend huh?” he blurted and I could really punch him right now.

I smirked and tried to gather my dignity if there’s anything left, “well, who says I would want you to love me? and what makes you think I couldn’t unlove you?”

“That’s tough,” and he freed a nice smile, almost a genuine gentle immaculate smile. He moved closer to take my hand and I was too swoon to resist. “I cannot explain it but I have been thinking about you so much that I couldn’t tell if I am just crazy or I am also in love with you. I broke up with Sarah last night because I don’t think I can bear the thought of not being in this position to ask you the question. I am relieved you said you do or I would probably pray to all the Gods to win your heart.” He stared at my hand which he’s holding and I could feel the electricity building between us.

“Brent, am not sure I want to be with you,” a truth.

“I have thought about that. I know you don’t let anyone to be part of your world but I am asking you a month. For a month, let me love you and love me. If it doesn’t work, I will walk away,” he hold my hands tighter, the action saying everything that he wanted a chance.

I have imagined this for a long time and I can’t believe it’s happening. For the first time I am taking a plunge. I smiled. “Okay 1 month.”

He smiled happily, “that can turn to 2 or forever.”

He is making me nervous but this time for all the right reasons.

Leave a Reply

