Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,194 of 10,000] Is He Thinking About Me?

In Short Story on October 31, 2013 at 8:04 AM

“Rory! Can I talk to you?” It’s Charlene, the woman in the life of the man that I am madly in love to, but both don’t know, so I’ve always hope, because I will never steal someone’s happy ending especially Charlene’s who will fight for this relationship.

“Hi Charlene,” I blurted curtly.

“Can I talk to you over coffee?” I wanted to decline but do I have that choice? I do.

“I’m sorry but I am quite tied up right now, your boyfriend is rushing me to work on something.” By the way, her boyfriend is my boss that I crazily adore.

“Did he request that you stay up after office?” she inquired.

“Yes. Is there a problem?”

“Can we talk it over with good coffee? Please.” Her voice is about to crack, and I can’t let her cry don’t I? It feels cruel.

“Sure.”

It was awkward when we sat in front of each other. She was shaking as she picked up her cup. She took a deep breath and finally looked me in the eyes but no words come out from those lips he have been passionately kissing.

jozoara-coffee-shop

“Charlene… what is it?” I softly asked but I am starting to get nervous.

“We were in bed last night and he called your name,” I could sense that she’s quite hurt and a portion of me rejoices. I can rejoice right? But if he could thoughtfully cheat on her… well it’s a long shot that we could ever be together but if we do he could cheat on me too. “Are you two having an affair?” she softly inquired but she seems to know the answer.

“The only affair that we have is he gives me things to do, I reminded him on what to do, and I get paid to see him 5 days a week. We don’t have an illicit affair,” I assured her because it is true.

She nodded; she seemed to expect that answer.

“I believe you, I confronted him last night…” she paused again, finding it so difficult to compose her words together, “I asked him if are you having an affair and he looked me in the eyes and said no. I asked why would you blurt her name during our love making and he said he is fascinated by you. He said you are different. He said you flirt on SMS but you never really let any man rule your world so he wants to pursue you, even for a bit, he wanted to find out what it’s like to be loved by you. If a man have that kind of fascination towards a woman, I wanted to become that woman. I want him to think of me that way.”

There was a long silence. I was delighted in a way to what I hear but I couldn’t hide my disappointment that he is still with her, he is still planning to marry her, and I would still end up wishing.

“Rory,” I could see her putting all her strength this time, “I came here to see you because I am breaking up with him. I couldn’t bear the thought that he is fantasising other woman than me. I feel disrespected. I love him and if this would mean letting him go to be with someone he wanted, then so be it.”

“Charlene you are rushing, didn’t you hear yourself, you said wanted but I am not needed. This is definitely a phase, I will soon resign, I don’t intend to work for him for the rest of my life, I have bigger dreams than that. I don’t want to become an employee of someone else, I wanted to work for my own business. Don’t rush it. I will not even talk to him about this. I will ignore it because I will never break the two of you.” I really protested. It’s one thing to sort of love someone and it’s another thing if couple have been together for a long time.

“Do you love him?” Oh Shit! Why does she need to ask that!

“I am paid to love him otherwise I will never put up for all his demands at work.” It sounds truthful and she needed to hear that. Thank God she bought it. I wish this conversation ends now!!

“I’ll think about it… thank you for talking to me.”

I went back to the office. Regular thing like nothing happened. Work my ass then Trever called me in his office.

“Have a seat Rory,” usually a have a seat is a beginning of a serious business talk but why do I have a fear this has nothing to do with business.

“I have been dreaming of you a lot lately.”

“Dreaming or nightmare because I know you wanted so much from me. I actually don’t know which part of my head to scratch,” I joked but it’s true, there are so much work to do at the office that I sometimes just try to avoid laughing with him with silly things.

“Rory I know Charlene talked to you earlier today.” I was shocked!

“Are you following your girlfriend or are you following me?”

“I know she said things that are ridiculous.”

“Which part?” I inquired.

“All of it of course.”

“Do you even know what we talked about?”

“I know that she probably said I said your name while she was kissing me during our intimate moments and -”

“Wait!!! Stop right there!!! I don’t want to hear the details of your activities so just go to the bottom. The two of you, what do you need from me?”

“I think I am in love with you.” Okay that was unexpected. I couldn’t speak.

“You think but I don’t think you’re sure. This is going to be crazy, I don’t know how am I going to survive but wait here, I will just print something.” I left him from his office, went to my desk, print a piece of paper, signed it, and I went back to give it to him.

“Here you go.”

“What’s this? Is this what I think it is?”

“I am resigning. I don’t want to be in between you and your fiancee. We have to be honest here Trever, I don’t want destroying a relationship you’ve been building for a while. You lived together like a real couple, I don’t love you like she does. She was willing to break up with you for your silly fascination. I am not going to let you do that. The only reason you tend to be attracted to me is because you know you’ll never get me and I will never let you get into my life.”

“I know you always believed that things happen for a reason.” In my head, yes, are you going to put me in my rightful place again. “I don’t think it was a mistake that we crossed path. I know I said earlier that I think I am in love with you… but the truth is I am in love with you. I want to take care of you and kiss you.”

“Are you sure it isn’t just lust and excitement that is causing you to hallucinate and say all these things?”

“Maybe but I also can’t deny that you’re the only person I am willing to listen to without hesitation.”

“Initially I wanted to give you 2 months notice but with the circumstances, I am only doing the legal 1 month. I can’t do this. It doesn’t feel right. Trust me, the moment that you don’t see me, you will forget about me.”

“How can you be so sure about my feelings? Why do you judge me all the time that you know what I am thinking. I really love you and I’ve been containing this feeling for so long. I cannot accept this resignation.”

I took out my phone and emailed the resignation to him.

“Now you don’t have to accept it. Get your shit together and make better decisions. I can never be with a man who can cheat with her woman. I just can’t.”

Leave a Reply

