Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,481 of 10,000] Training My Reflexes To Focus

In Article on May 29, 2015 at 10:23 AM

My Beautiful MindWhenever I make my daily blog post, my mind shoots in every direction that I can be totally into my typing and then I start to drift to various websites, sometimes for inspiration, or multi-task to do or think something else away from my laptop (that dry laundry needs folding, I got to make new batch of ice cubes, etc.), and the danger is I have become unfocused that I wandered off. Putting the tags and selecting a category before I am done with the post is a lazy excuse to not focus to write well. In this post, I am training myself to finish before I even consider leaving the writing page. And so it begins…

The only time that it should be valid to leave is when it’s time to find the perfect image that described the post or I needed a bit of research to serve a substantial write-up especially right now this is my consistent daily job, to write a blog that makes sense. It would be nice that I could start making money to support my financial needs by doing what I love to do. I’d been doing some reading about it and it’s fascinating but involved hard works. It all goes back to hard works, devoting energy and soaking up what needs to be learned to move forward.

I am also reading and practising living in the NOW (Present Moment) through Eckhart Tolle’s book. I am slowly grasping his teaching and not wandering off to finish this blog, I could really feel that I am more focused and in the present. The most beautiful gift of the present unless there is a bomb over my head is I feel peaceful.

When I was in school, Essay was my favourite type of test from the choices of True or False, Multiple Choice, Fill in the Blank, and Matching Type. Writing a blog post is always like writing an Essay where there is freedom to express your point of view but keeping in mind that the thought should be valid. In school, whenever I finish writing an essay though, I am not in a habit to reread it, it’s like it’s written, done, I am not changing my mind on anything. But now that I’m grown up, I feel the responsibility to really check my flow of thinking that it has to be palatable to the reader, to you reading this now, as my sign of respect and gratitude for you time of dropping by, but most especially I could only hope that I have given you an inspiration that would be beneficial in practice or as an entertainment.

There I’ve done it! I finished the post without wandering off and what I’ve discovered in me is a sense of accomplishment that I have my full attention to create it, I couldn’t believe I have easily reach more than 500 words (not that I aimed for long posts, I actually prefer short ones but substantial), and it was done faster than just waiting in one of my tabs supposedly for a longer time that sometimes it even reached at the very end of the day. It’s rewarding! If I practice doing one task at a time not just in writing a blog post, I could well be accomplishing more with quality.

Are you having problem focusing on one task at a time? Or have you overcome it? Share your story.

Leave a Reply

