Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,510 of 10,000] Shall We Refer To Old Experience?

In Article on June 27, 2015 at 6:47 AM

Strands

I don’t know about your habit but I have an automatic tendency to refer to my old experience or an experience that I have read in the past. Mentorship exists because these are the people sharing what they have learned. I mentioned about people being unique (like different definition of love) and yet there are certain things that are universal (like love) to all people.

If I am similar to you in some ways and different in the others, shall I still consider the experience of others or even mine that has happened in the past? Also, if I were to live in the present and considering I am supposed to be growing to be better everyday, do I still need to refer on old wisdom (it is called wisdom for a reason huh)? I have the urge to ask others of their opinions too, what would you do?

I have been very peculiar on how I am writing my recent blog post that I use “I” because I wanted the reader to know this is my thoughts and experience, and I certainly want to know what is your perspective. I strongly believe that wisdom are there to guide us, books (even Bible) was created so we may have a sense of values to hold on to, and as much as asking others what they would do in a situation it is better to let individual to come up with a conclusion of their own, I am allowed to say my action plans but I should not insist except if the other wants to kill himself and that is not a solution at all.

My weaknesses are self-pity, confused with opposing ideas, inaction, devicing scheme to take the dead halt way, and arrogance that I know it all. It feels good to name my internal churns so that when I refer to my old experience, I could identify if they belong to any of those categories that it is time for me to seek other council or go back to my inner peace to listen to God.

Learning from others are good but it is crucial to be selective on what I take on to move forward. I have to pick the ones that speak to my personal calling. So yes, referencing to old experience is all right, but everytime I tend to do that, I have to consider that change for the good happens, and I have to always to live with greatness and gladness right now that past hurt is a wonderful reference, just a reference and no longer a reality.

Leave a Reply

