Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,637 of 10,000] Call Me By My First Name

In Article on October 31, 2015 at 6:11 AM

Baby

I am finally working in a global company where everyone call each other by their first name, regardless of their position.

Coming from a Chinese and Filipino backgrounds where proper title is duly added before the first name or more formally before the last name, I have to undergo some growing. First name is so casual that it felt like I could open up to my seniors or reporting supervisors, but as time passes by, I finally recognised that this Senior Vice President no matter how cool and approachable is definitely worth my respect even if I address him by his first name.

It is actually good to just call each other by our first names because it drops a layer of boundery and it feels like we are equal. Respect is earned by the actual position and works being excellently done. It’s a breathe of fresh air that you don’t have to tip toe on calling somebody sir or madam, but real respect now demonstrated on how a certain person truly carry himself. It makes me avoid inflating anyone’s ego too.

As soon as I have my own company, it’ll definitely be a first name basis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

