Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,707 of 10,000] The Movie Characters and My Age

In Article, Review on May 13, 2016 at 10:08 PM

I watched the Sex and The City movies back-to-back. Quick review: I was disappointed about the Part 2, I didn’t like it because I didn’t believe it. I live in UAE and I know that they were not in Abu Dhabi, it doesn’t really reflect authenticity about the city so it ruined the sense of entertainment.

Setting aside my disappointment about the portrayal of everything Abu Dhabi, I just recognised myself laughing and seeing the characters. I understand their decisions and their points of view, because I am now 35. I still remember when I was a teenager, I am drawn to Dawson’s Creek and couldn’t really enjoy stories of older people (why will I follow the lives of my parents’ age); but now that I have experienced adulthood, I do appreciate them.

I tend to find similarities with others and it is comforting to find oh she felt that, that is REALLY difficult (I know, been there), now looked like a success to me, and so forth… Although, in another part, I do believe now that each of us is unique, both our joy and pain, and we couldn’t actually say we have identical experiences because it could never be; maybe a slight hint but not entirely.

One of the scenes that I will never forget is when Charlotte was so furious at Big. Saying “NO” with so much dignity, firmness, and anger. She was rooting for Carrie and Big and yet she knew when it was time to protect her friend.

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

