Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,708 of 10,000] Everybody Needs Validation

In Article on May 26, 2016 at 12:36 AM

Oprah Winfrey (I just have to add, I adore her) shared that everyone needs validation, whether victims of violence, celebrities including Beyonce, or just about any regular folks. She said, “What we do and what we say, and who we are matters. We want to be validated. Do you see? What I say mean anything to you? Do I matter to you?”

I try to wrap my head around it, depending on certain circumstances, I do ask for validation. Do I look good? Did I do a great job? Especially finding the opinion of the people who I consider that mattered to me, who’s decision I do respect, and so the rest are just bubbles that I don’t care or maybe I don’t sense the authenticity.

Yes sometimes, it doesn’t bother me if they like what I do especially if I know that it’s part of my obligation. I met a man that whenever I thank him for accomplishing a good work, he said it’s my job to do. I wonder, in those times that I don’t care, is it because I am not attached with the effect, I don’t need to be patronised, or am I too busy to pause and appreciate the accolade?

You and I matter, that’s for sure. May we always be heard and seen. May we find the right ways to live and truly matter to be living greater than ourselves.

You and I matter

 

Leave a Reply

