Yor Ryeter

[1: 1,863 of 10,000] How Can I Not Be Grateful?

In Journal on January 15, 2017 at 9:45 PM

Grateful.png

There was a time in my life that I live in an apartment with mice. The place was so small that one night, one crawled on me, and I never had a peaceful night ever again. At that time, I was working in a company that is in a brink of bankruptcy and it couldn’t pay me my salary.

Few years back, I quit my job with credit card debt, a bank loan to pay, and I have to be dependent on my sisters for about 7 months. I tried to sell my valuables and approached people I know who I don’t normally ask for personal loan. No one ever lend me any money but I was able to count on my sisters, and no one else. At that point, I promised to myself that I will never be in that position again, begging for money.

My parents were great. They were hard working and provided for my sisters and I until the business didn’t work out anymore. I never have to work and study, I just have to study and they work. As the business crashed, so is their relationship as a couple, and I even wondered if will I grow up to be like my mother? Strong, resourceful, but believed that to save her daughters she committed adultery. Without my mother’s effort, I wouldn’t be in Dubai right now with a comfortable life.

It is good to remember that life was never easy and I will never go back in time to change it. Why would I bother to go back if I have this very moment to make the best choice? How can I not be grateful when I now sleep on my own bed when I used to sleep on the floor with a mattress? How can I not be grateful if I am paid with an on time salary?

I can only be grateful and to pray too that I remain focused and courageous to be loving and creative.

Leave a Reply

