Yor Ryeter

[1: 280 of 10,000] Beach & Boundaries

In Article on July 7, 2011 at 10:51 PM

I just re-watched the movie The Beach on cable television then I read about Scott Berkun’s The Daily Post prompt boundaries and they matched up. In the movie, these lines were uttered by the character played by Leonardo di Caprio –


My name is Richard. So what else do you need to know? Stuff about my family, or where I’m from? None of that matters. Not once you cross the ocean and cut yourself loose, looking for something more beautiful, something more exciting and yes, I admit, something more dangerous. So after eighteen hours in the back of an airplane, three dumb movies, two plastic meals, six beers and absolutely no sleep, I finally touch down; in Bangkok.

Trust me, it’s paradise. This is where the hungry come to feed. For mine is a generation that circles the globe and searches for something we haven’t tried before. So never refuse an invitation, never resist the unfamiliar, never fail to be polite and never outstay the welcome. Just keep your mind open and suck in the experience. And if it hurts, you know what? It’s probably worth it.

And me, I still believe in paradise. But now at least I know it’s not some place you can look for, ’cause it’s not where you go. It’s how you feel for a moment in your life when you’re a part of something, and if you find that moment… it lasts forever.

The movie maybe a happy go lucky attitude towards life, it can’t be real for real life, but why not cut myself loose and explore more than what I thought was my boundary? So long that I don’t disobey anything from the 10 commandments and put a sincere smile I could be doing it right. As long as my heart isn’t heavy and the universe connive with my map less plan the world becomes my playground and life is my witness for every sphere and slacks that I take and partake. Life is an adventure.

Leave a comment