Yor Ryeter

[1: 927 of 10,000] He Whispered, “I Love You”

In Short Story on February 11, 2013 at 7:39 PM

“So you are his Sunshine or Better Half as he fondly say,” asked by his mum.

“Yes, ma’am,” I replied.

“You know that he has a girlfriend,” she pried.

“I don’t know what you mean… of course I know he has one and he even calls her his wife at this point.”

“Little Missy, my son is obviously in love with you. I don’t know if you admitted it to yourself but I think you are too to him. How much do you love him?”

I can’t believe what I’m hearing. Is she seriously implying I liked his son, who is also my boss?

“I work for your son. I am an employee. It is natural to care for him for the work sake. I got paid being nice.”

“I saw how he looks at you. I saw how he hugs you. I saw how worried he was when he thought something went terribly wrong when you were simply late and failed to inform him. He never stopped sharing beautiful stories about you especially on how you never failed to surprise him and warms his heart. If I will choose a woman for my only son, I want it to be you. Don’t you see how protective he is for you from other men? He believes you are his to care and love.”

“I don’t think I like your son the way you wish I would… I am sorry I have to go.”

I left her with sadness in her eyes. I never liked infidelity and I will never start breaking a relationship. I admit I had a tiny bit of crush at the beginning but as I worked longer with him, I knew that our relationship can never go beyond business. I am his employee.

The following morning, I saw him cheerful and greeted me “Good Morning.” I replied back. Then he sat beside me and said, “My mum was weird last night. She said something absolutely crazy. He said I should end my relationship with my girlfriend and start paying attention to you. How odd is it right?”

“Extremely odd! You got a meeting at 10am and don’t forget to go to the bank.”

“All business!!! Why do you think my mum start saying things like that?”

“I know you listen to your mum a lot, but she is misinterpreting things. Let me just work for you.”

His mum who lives in a different country finally reached the end of her vacation and gave me peace. Then the unexpected happen, my boss lost his best friend. I tried to give comforting words at those times. He invited me to a private party intended to remember the good memory of his friend, then at the end of the evening…

He hugged me and whispered… “You are a good friend. I love you. You will never be part of my shit list. Thank you for being nice and being here.”

I know he is sad and just emotional at that time. He hugged me a little longer than usual in front of everyone… in front of his girlfriend… It feels awkward and yet I cannot push him away. I waited until it is over and I bid good bye.

It cannot be real. It cannot be true. I am saying good bye because I don’t love you.

Romance_by_immortal_darkness

Leave a Reply

