Yor Ryeter

[1: 327 of 10,000] Head, Heart And Another Player

In Article on August 13, 2011 at 10:51 AM

I’ve heard about “use your head not your heart” expression when I was growing up. Now that I’m a grown up and supposedly knows more about life, I also want to state my answer on Scott Berkun’s questions:

Are you driven by your head or your heart? Or maybe by something else? How do you balance the conflicting forces for how to be?

How do I define head anyway? It is reason, objective, firm, and practical. What is heart? It is emotional, subjective, kind, and forgiving.

My feeling is everytime these two are discussed somehow the negative scenarios emerged. Like if I use my heart I am out of reason but if I use only reason I pose a soulless image.

At my age, I know that if I have to do something I have to give both to establish balance. I make each side compromise for what my gut feeling or intuition would reconfirm. My gut feeling is the third party in play and if I am not sure I usually don’t act but if it’s a matter of calculated risk I got to move forward with my why (heart) I am doing it with how (gut) will I be successful and what (head) will I do.

10 years from now, I might change this perspective or I would have enhance and perfect it. How about you, what drives you, is it head, heart, or something else too?

  1. you wrote:”it’s a matter of calculated risk
    I got to move forward with my why (heart)
    I am doing it with how (gut) …”
    well said!

Leave a comment